AAMP Update

2018 AAMP Convention

July 19-21

Kansas City, MO

For more information, visit www.aamp.com 




American Association of Meat Processors Outstanding Service Award

Janice Fisher


American Cured Meat Championship Winners:

Dewig Meats; Haubstadt, IN

Braunschweiger – Grand Champion

Frankfurters (emulsified) – Reserve Grand Champion

Ham Bone-in (lightweight) – Reserve Grand Champion

Ham Boneless – Grand Champion

Semi-Dried Sausage – Reserve Grand Champion

Smoked Turkey – Reserve Grand Champion

Country Ham (Featured Class) – Grand Champion


Fischer Packing Company

Bacon (lightweight) – Champion

Braunschweiger – Reserve Grand Champion

Cured Specialty Meat – Reserve Champion (Smoked Boneless Turkey Breast)

Frankfurters (course ground) – Grand Champion

Ham Boneless – Reserve Champion

Luncheon Meat – Reserve Grand Champion


John’s Butcher Shop

Bacon (heavyweight) – Reserve Champion


Merkley & Sons Packing Company Inc.

Ham Bone-in (lightweight) – Reserve Champion

Ham Boneless – Champion

Luncheon Meat – Reserve Champion




American Cured Meat Championship Winners:

Dewig Meats; Haubstadt, IN

Cured Meats Excellence Award

Braunschweiger – Reserve Champion

Dried Beef – Grand Champion

Frankfurters (Course Ground) – Reserve Grand Champion

Frankfurters (Emulsified) – Grand Champion

Ham (Bone-In) – Reserve Grand Champion

Ham (Boneless) – Champion

Luncheon Meat – Reserve Champion

Summer Sausage – Grand Champion


Merkley & Sons Packing Co, Inc; Jasper, IN

Ham (Semi Boneless) – Champion


Indiana plants that attended the 2016 American Association of Meat Processors National Convention:

Custom Quality Meats, New Haven

Dewig Meats, Haubstadt

John’s Butcher Shop, Nappanee

Merkley & Sons, Jasper

Mischler’s Meats, LaGrange

Wagon Wheel Country Market, Bloomington